The 9th MNS Conference 2023

The 9th Mediterranean Neuroscience Society (MNS) Conference 2023 held from October 14th to 18th in Carthage, Tunisia, was an unparalleled event that transcended the boundaries of conventional scientific gatherings. Full Conference Report

President: Prof. Olfa Masmoudi
Full Conference Program and Proceedings
Venue: HOTEL "Carthage Thalasso Resort" Gammarth, Tunis

Where History and Science Converge:

Carthage, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, provided an enchanting backdrop for this intellectual rendezvous. Nestled along the Mediterranean coast, it served as a meeting point for researchers, scientists, clinicians, students, educators, and local authorities, all sharing a fervor for unraveling the mysteries of the brain. This conference was an opportunity to build bridges among Mediterranean neuroscientists and their global counterparts.

MNS 2023 in Numbers:

With over 250 attendees and 176 speakers, the MNS conference 2023, brought together a multitude of experts and enthusiasts from diverse corners of the world.

This conference was a treasure trove of knowledge, featuring an impressive array of activities. It served as an intellectual feast, featuring a staggering total of 43 symposia that included a total of 188 thought-provoking presentations, with one special event that explored the intriguing intersection of neuroscience and law. It featured 3 captivating presentations delving into topics such as the legal and ethical implications of neuroscience discoveries, the contribution of neuroscience to criminal law, and the need for a legal framework in neuromarketing.

Additionally, there was a workshop on publishing organized by EJN Wiley/FENS and another one focused on experimental design and reporting by NC3Rs. The conference also boasted 5 enlightening keynote lectures delivered by distinguished neuroscientists from around the world more information here and showcased 49 posters that provided an in-depth exploration of the vast field of neuroscience.

Scientific Highlights:

ALBA Network Symposium:


CHAIRS: Olfa Masmoudi (TN), Taoufik Ghrairi (TN), and Giuseppe Di Giovanni (MT)

The awards presented recognize outstanding contributions to neuroscience research and innovation. These accolades signify the commitment of researchers worldwide to advancing our understanding of the brain and its disorders. We congratulate the recipients of the following prestigious awards; Best Paper Awards:

- Journal Neuroscience Methods Elsevier
- CNS Neuroscience and Therapeutics Wiley
- The Receptors Springer/Nature


Prof Giuseppe Di Giovanni (University of Malta, Malta) - President

Dr Liana Fattore (IN-CNR, Italy) - Past-President

Prof Christina Dalla (University of Athens, Greece) - Vice-President

Prof Goran Simic (University of Zagreb, Croatia) - General-Secretary

Prof Ali Jahanshahi (MUMC+, Netherland) - Treasurer

Prof Amira Zaky (Alexandria University-Egypt) - Councilor

Prof Aviv M. Weinstein (Ariel University, Israel) - Councilor

Prof Khalid El Lali (IAV Hassan II, Morocco) - Councilor

Prof Patrizia Campolongo (University of Rome, Italy) - Councilor

Prof Jacques Noël (Université Côte d'Azur Nice, France) - Councilor

Prof Patrick Vuillez (Strasbourg University, France) - Councilor

Prof Nuno Sousa (University of Minho, Portugal) - Councilor

Prof Olfa Masmoudi (University of Tunis El Manar, Sousse, Tunisia) - Councilor

Prof Fatiha Chigr (Université Sultan Moulay Slimane, Morocco) - Councilor

Prof Rosario Moratalla (Female )Instituto Cajal, Madrid, Spain) - Councilor


Prof Olfa Masmoudi (University of Tunis El Manar, Tunisia) - President

Prof Taoufik Ghrairi (University of Tunis El Manar, Tunisia) - Associate President

Prof Giuseppe Di Giovanni (University of Malta, Malta) - Honorary President

Prof Amira Zaky (Alexandria University-Egypt) - Member

Prof Nouria Lakhdar-Ghazal (Mohammed V University of Rabat) - Member

Prof Said Glai (National Institute of Neurology, University Tunis El Manar) - Member

Dr Yosra Hamdi (University of Tunis El Manar, Tunisia) - Member

Prof Marc Landry (University of Bordeaux, FR) - Honorary Member

Prof Christina Dalla (University of Athens, Greece) - Honorary Member

Prof Khalid El Lali (IAV Hassan II, Morocco) - Member

Prof Fatiha Chigr (Université Sultan Moulay Slimane, Morocco) - Member

Prof Patrizia Campagnolo (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy) - Member

Dr Liana Fattore (IN-CNR, Italy) - Member